19 January, 2015

No Hate Parliamentary Alliance – Council of Europe

No Comments
Category: Council of Europe, Political campaign
Community Manager
5 pm

council_of_europe_logo11No Hate Parliamentary Alliance

In follow-up to the Assembly Resolution 1967 (2014) on A strategy to prevent racism and intolerance in Europe, the Committee on Equality and Non-Discrimination has proposed setting up the No Hate Parliamentary Alliance, an alliance of parliamentarians who commit to taking open, firm and pro-active stands against racism, hatred and intolerance on whatever grounds and however they manifest themselves. Initially, the Alliance is open only to members of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe. Their commitment is formalised by signing the Charter of commitments for membership in the Alliance.


The main activities of the Alliance are conducted at national level. Its members commit to:

  • raise awareness against racism and intolerance amongst politicians and civil society;
  • promote the respect of equality, non-discrimination and respect for diversity, as grounded in the European Convention on Human Rights and its Protocols;
  • exchange information on law and best practice in preventing and combating racism, hatred and intolerance with parliamentarians from other countries;
  • support and participate in the work of the national committees of the Council of Europe “No Hate Speech Movement.”

The Alliance is coordinated by Ms Maria Giannakaki (Greece, SOC), General Rapporteur on combating racism and intolerance, who is supported by the Bureau of the Committee on Equality and Non-Discrimination.

No Hate Parliamentary Alliance. List of members.

Coordinator: Ms Maria GIANNAKAKI (Greece) –  General Rapporteur on combating racism and intolerance


  1. Ms Gisela WURM, Austria 
  2. Ms Ismeta DERVOZ (Bosniaand Herzegovina)
  3. Mr Jonas GUNNARSSON (Sweden)
  4. Ms Carmen QUINTANILLA (Spain)


  1. Mme Meritxell MATEU PI (Andorra)
  2. Ms Hermine Naghdalyan (Armenia)
  3. Mr. Piet De BRUYN (Belgium)                 
  4. Mr Kancho FILIPOV (Bulgaria)
  5. Ms Ingrid ANTIČEVIĆ MARINOVIĆ (Croatia)
  6. Ms Athina KYRIAKIDOU (Cyprus)
  7. Marek ČERNOCH  (Czech Republic)
  8. Mr Nikolaj VILLUMSEN  (Denmark)
  9. Mme Liisa PAKOSTA (Estonia)
  10. Ms Maria Guzenina (Finland)                        
  11. Mme Nicole DURANTON  (France)
  12. M. Pierre-Yves LE BORGN’ (France)
  13. Ms Gabriela HEINRICH  (Germany)                
  14. Ms Rózsa Hoffmann (Hungary)
  15. Mr Brynjar Níelsson (Iceland )
  16. Ms Milena SANTERINI (Italy )
  17. Mr Gerold Büchel (Lichtenstein)
  18. Ms Dalia KUODYTÉ (Lithuania)
  19. Ms Deborah SCHEMBRI  (Malta)
  20. Madame Béatrice FRESKO-ROLFO (Monaco)
  21. Ms Snežana Jonica (Montenegro)
  22. Ms Khadija ARIB (Netherlands)
  23. Mr Snorre VALEN (Norway)
  24. Mr Robert BIEDROŃ (Poland)
  25. Mr Carlos Costa Neves (Portugal)
  26. Mr Ionut STROE (Romania)
  27. Mr Mihai FIFOR (Romania)
  28. Mme Lorella STEFANELLISan Marino
  29. Ms Elvira KOVÁCS (Serbia)
  30. Mr Anže Logar (Slovenia)
  31. Mr Raphaël Comte  (Switzerland)
  32. Mr Gerhard PFISTER (Switzerland)
  33. Ms Tülin ERKAL KARA (Turkey)
  34. Mr Geraint DAVIES  (United Kingdom)
  35. Lord Richard BALFE (United Kingdom)











Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *